Photo: MyFCBarca
Copa del Rey. Photo: MyFCBarca

Copa del Rey Schedule - Copa America 2021

The RFEF released the schedule for the 2020/21 Copa Del Rey back in September this year. The Schedule is as follows:

  • Preliminary round: 11 November 2020
  • First round: 15/16 December 2020
  • Second round: 5/6 January 2021
  • Round of 32: 16 January 2021
  • Round of 16: 26/27 January 2021
  • Quarterfinals: 2/3 Feb 2021
  • Semifinals: 9/10 Feb 2021 and 2/3 March 2021*
  • Final: 18 April 2021.

Copa America 2021 Participating Teams

The participating teams in the 2021 Copa Del Rey will be 126 in total.

They include:

  • The 20 teams of the 2019/20 La Liga season
  • The 22 teams of the 2019–20 Segunda Division season
  • Top seven non-reserve teams of each group of the 2019–20 Segunda División B season, excluding reserve teams
  • The best non-reserve team of each one of the 18 groups of the 2019–20 Tercera División season and the best 14 runners-up, excluding reserve teams
  • The four semifinalists of the 2020 Copa Federación de España
  • The winners of the 20 groups of the fifth tier in the 2019–20 season.

Copa America 2021 TV Channels List

Photo: beIN SPORTS
Photo: beIN SPORTS

The Copa del Rey isn’t telecasted internationally to all countries and the TV networks of these nations don’t have broadcast rights. They thus are looking for rights to display coverage of the competition in respective Territories.

Below is a list of Countries with Copa America 2021 broadcast rights tv channels:

Sky Sports – Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Dominican Republic and Nicaragua

DAZN – Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Japan

L’Équipe – France

Arena Sport – Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, and Montenegro

ESPN – Brazil and the United States

DirecTV – Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela

Sports TV – Portugal, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Slovakia

PPTV – China

Digi Sport – Romania and Hungary

StarTimes – Africa

DAZN broadcasts a total of 50 matches, and Mediaset lets you watch 15 games for free and three Supercopa matches.

Jio Football: Jio TV to broadcast Copa del Rey live stream in India.

How to watch Copa America 2021 Live Streaming?

If your country doesn’t telecast Copa del Rey on TV, then you could use a suitable VPN to broadcast the match from one of the listed countries or channels above. The United States football fans can watch Copa del Rey using VPN to access geo-block content legally.

You can also watch live streaming of the Copa Del Rey games on bet365 or totalsportek and other reliable soccer streaming sites online. Copa del Rey finals are sometimes available on Facebook Live, or YouTube lives for football fans.

How to Watch Copa America 2021 in the US

The game will be shown live on BT Sport. There are multiple ways to get BT Sport. If you already have BT Broadband, you can add BT TV and Sport to your existing contract from just £15 per month. You can add the ‘Big Sport’ package for £40 per month which includes all BT Sport and 11 Sky Sports channels via a NOW TV pass.

These matches will air only on ESPN+. It’s a standalone service that isn’t covered by a normal ESPN subscription. Therefore, the match will not be available on WatchESPN or any ESPN cable channels.

What is ESPN+? - ESPN+ isn’t a replacement for a normal ESPN subscription through your cable provider. Instead, it’s an auxiliary service that provides original content and some live sports. It also gives customers access to exclusive content on and access to pay-per-view MMA events.

How much does ESPN+ cost? - Viewers can sign up for $4.99 a month to get all ESPN+ content (this does not include standard live sports on Watch ESPN). There’s also an option to bundle ESPN+ with Hulu and Disney+ for $12.99 per month, as reported by MassLive.

Facts About Copa del Rey

The Spanish Copa del Rey is the second most relevant football competition in Spain. This tournament saw the light of day in 1902, and its full name is “Campeonato de España – Copa de Su Majestad el Rey" which translates to "Championship of Spain – Cup of His Majesty the King".

It is the oldest competition in Spanish football history, preceding the formation of La Liga – or the Primera División. Due to the tournament’s rich history, the Copa del Rey is revered as one of the most prestigious domestic cups in world football. Athletic Bilbao, a club that has enjoyed tremendous success on this stage, won the inaugural title, beating Real Madrid – then known simply as Madrid FC – 3-2 in the final.

This event has seen its format change through time. The first championship was played by only three teams while the 2018/19 edition saw 83 teams participate, as it had been for many years. However, come 2019/20, the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) decided to include more teams to give the tournament a new look and thus upped the number of contestants to 125. This move brought about the inclusion of regional teams from the fifth division.

Each round is played in a one-match format, excluding the semi-finals. The champions earn a ticket to the Europa League. If the winners have already secured European berth via the league, then this spot passes down to the highest-placed team in La Liga to have missed out on the UEFA club competition. The two finalists qualify for the Supercopa de España for the following season.

As is true of La Liga, the Copa del Rey has witnessed some of the greatest players to have touched a ball on Spanish soil. Telmo Zarra, Ferenc Puskas, Cristiano Ronaldo, Iker Casillas, and Lionel Messi are a few icons to win the title and/or set records in this tournament. This is one of the main reasons why this competition pulls in admirable viewership numbers, with fans tuning in to licensed TV broadcasters, live streaming options, and on-demand services to catch all the action live.

For more interesting news of KnowInsiders, check out right below!

How and Where to Watch National Women How and Where to Watch National Women's Soccer League in USA: TV Schedule, LiveSstreaming Links

The National Women's Soccer League announced the full schedule for the 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup on Tuesday. The 21-game tournament kicks off on April 9 ...

How and Where to Watch Primeira Liga: Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live Streams How and Where to Watch Primeira Liga: Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live Streams

To fans of Primeira Liga, or so-called Liga NOS, Knowinsiders has prepared an article about How to watch it, Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live ...

How and Where to Watch Ligue 1: Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live Streams How and Where to Watch Ligue 1: Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live Streams

For those interested in watching Ligue 1 2020/2021, Knowinsiders has already prepared an article of Schedule, TV Channels, Online and Live Streams & all about ...